Shortcut to content

Expertise | Expert Information | Service | New | About BAM
Contact | © Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Search | RSS | Deutsch
Bundesadler



Short Pulse Laser Technology


The project group uses lasers with pulse durations ranging from the femtosecond to the nanosecond regime to perform research projects concerned with laser safety, materials processing, and preservation of cultural heritage.

The increasing spread of laser systems in industry and research institutes is accompanied by efforts for the improvement of optical components ensuring a reliable guidance of laser beams and activities to enhance safety at work. The project group runs projects in these fields of activity and offers testing facilities to characterize stability of filters and frames of eye protectors to laser radiation according to DIN EN 207 standard.

Femtosecond laser pulses can be utilized for structuring purposes in the micrometer range. Machining on the nanometer scale is possible using nonlinear optical laser materials interactions to achieve structures with periods smaller than the laser wavelength. In such a manner surfaces can be functionalized for technical and biomedical applications. Direct laser structuring of materials with powerful pulses needs no masks, is not restricted to flat substrates and can be applied to a large variety of materials. In recent projects laser-induced periodic surface structures (LIPSS) are studied when solids are illuminated with femtosecond laser pulses (DFG SPP1327, http://www.spp1327.de). Additionally fixing of bioactive ceramic material to titanium alloy implant surfaces (prosthesis material) by means of femtosecond laser radiation is investigated.

Cleaning of cultural assets, especially fragile organic materials like paper, parchment and textiles is a part of the conservation process. Laser radiation as a non-contact tool offers prospects for that purpose. Laser cleaning of soiled works of art might be a supplemental method to overcome some of the limitations of traditional mechanical and chemical cleaning techniques. The project group determines laser working ranges for a safe removal of soiling from artworks trying to avoid any laser-induced modification of the original object.

Areas of expertise

The project group cooperates with national and international companies, research institutes, and associations in the following areas:

Publications

For publications, see Datebase PUBLICA

Department 6 Ι Division 6.4

2016-01-29  

top

Division 6.4 Surface Technology


Dr. rer. nat.
Jörg Krüger
Unter den Eichen 44-46
12203 Berlin
phone:
+49 30 8104-1822
email:
Joerg.Krueger@bam.de

Researcher-ID
C-2833-2009

How to find BAM

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt

Kompetenzen | Fachthemen | Service | Aktuell | Über uns
Kontakt | © Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Suche | RSS | English
Bundesadler



Kurzpulslasertechnologien


Der Kompetenzbereich Kurzpulslasertechnologien nutzt Laserpulse mit Dauern im Femto- bis Nanosekundenbereich zur Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Projekte in den Themenfeldern Lasersicherheit, Materialbearbeitung und Kulturguterhaltung.

Die fortschreitende Marktdurchdringung des Lasers wird von einer Weiterentwicklung sowohl der optischen Komponenten zur sicheren Führung des Laserstrahles als auch der für den Arbeitsschutz notwendigen Laserschutzprodukte begleitet. Der Kompentenzbereich führt Projekte zu aktuellen Fragestellungen auf diesen Arbeitsgebieten durch und bietet Prüfungen zur Beständigkeit von Filtern und Tragkörpern gegen Laserstrahlung gemäß DIN EN 207 an.

Femtosekunden-Laserpulse bieten über Mikrostrukturierungsanwendungen hinaus die Voraussetzung, Nanostrukturierung mit Strukturbreiten unterhalb der Beugungsbegrenzung der klassischen Optik vorzunehmen. Oberflächen lassen sich dadurch funktionalisieren und an die Erfordernisse technischer und biomedizinischer Fragestellungen anpassen. Das Verfahren benötigt keine Masken und zeichnet sich gegenüber lithographischen Techniken durch eine hohe Flexibilität hinsichtlich der erzielbaren Geometrie und der Werkstoffe aus. Im Rahmen aktueller Forschungsprojekte (DFG SPP 1327, http://www.spp1327.de) werden Beiträge zum Verständnis der Entstehung von periodischen Oberflächenstrukturen im Nanometerbereich (laser-induced periodic surface structures, LIPSS) nach Bestrahlung von Festkörpern mit Femtosekunden-Laserpulsen geleistet. Darüber hinaus werden Möglichkeiten des Einsatzes ultrakurzer Lichtpulse zur Aufbringung von Knochenersatzmaterialien auf medizinischen Implantatwerkstoffen (Titan, Titanlegierungen) eruiert.

Die Restaurierung und im Speziellen die Reinigung von Kulturgütern mit herkömmlichen Verfahren (mechanisch, chemisch) stößt häufig an Grenzen. Die Verwendung von Laserstrahlung als berührungsloses Skalpell kann bei ausgewählten restauratorischen Problemen nützlich sein. Der Kompentenzbereich beschäftigt sich mit der Bestimmung des Parameterbereiches zum objektschonenden Laserreinigen, wobei besonders organische Materialien (Papier, Pergament, Textilien) im Zentrum des Interesses stehen.

Kompetenzen

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen und nationalen Zielgruppen aus Industrie, Forschung, Normungsgremien und öffentlicher Verwaltung werden Forschungs- und Prüfaufgaben in den folgenden Bereichen wahrgenommen:

Veröffentlichungen

Veröffentlichungen finden Sie in der Datenbank PUBLICA

Abteilung 6 Ι Fachbereich 6.4

2016-01-29  

top

Fachgruppe VI.4 Oberflächentechnologien


Dr. rer. nat.
Jörg Krüger
Unter den Eichen 44-46
12203 Berlin
Telefon:
+49 30 8104-1822
E-Mail:
Joerg.Krueger@bam.de

Researcher-ID
C-2833-2009

Wege zur BAM